Meet Mihret Topcagic.

Posted: February 6, 2014 in Interview, Pre-Season
Tags: , , ,

Image

Meet Mihret Topcagic, the new star striker for Shakhter Karagandy. We present the first installment about Shakhter’s new signings!

-You’re now moving to Kazakhstan, how did you come into contact with Shakhter Karagandy?

They went through an agency that had become aware of me through my statistics. The club has a very good scouting system. They looked at two Wolfsburg games through the internet, against Storm and Rapid. The coach was pleased with my performance.

-Do you already have an idea of ​​what to expect in Kazakhstan?

I have talked with some players who were already there, two Slovenians and a Serb. They told me that the club in Karagandy is very well organized and wants to achieve much. They almost reached the Champions League Group Stage (Note: FCSK lost in the play-off to Celtic 2:0 / 0:3) and that life there would be quite enjoyable.

-How long did it take you to make the decision?

On 19 December, they have contacted me, I had been thinking for a bit longer since I was very happy at Wolfsburg.

-What do you expect from this transfer, other than that you will earn considerably more money?

I’m into it 100% and will try to fulfill the wishes of the club as they paid so much money for me; the management wants to get into the Europa League, which is very important.

-Are you not afraid that when you come away from Central Europe you’ll be a bit out of sight, especially with regard to your future sporting ambitions?

I do not think so, mainly because development in Kazakhstan is followed especially carefully in Russia. Also a Shakhter Karagandy player is currently on trial with Brunswick.

Thanks for reading, stay tuned for more info about Shakhter’s signings! Don’t forget to like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter @ShakhterKgd

Original interview conducted in German by Hubert Gigler of Kleine Zeitung. Translated by Bekezhan Nurkhaidarov.

Leave a comment